
The facts must fall within the relevant cover. Proving damage alone does not establish which insurer is obliged to pay.
Valuation rules, limits, deductibles and the type of benefit determine the calculation. Each reduction should have an identifiable basis.
A policyholder, insured person, beneficiary and injured third party may have different rights within the same insurance arrangement.
Preserve the contractual terms, timeline and loss evidence, then assess the applicable claims requirements, limitation and remedy.
A flooded apartment can produce three different insurance disputes before the owner has even obtained a repair estimate. Consider an illustrative situation in which a family relocating to Sofia asks ARG for assistance after water damages their newly purchased home. The bank arranged one policy when granting the mortgage, the building has a separate policy, and the neighbour upstairs says that their liability insurer should pay. The family's own insurer offers a sum covering repainting but excludes the damaged flooring. Each organisation points to a different document. The family needs to know who actually owes them money, whether accepting the offer would settle the entire claim, and how to repair the home without losing evidence.
Bulgarian insurance law answers those questions through the relationship between the insured risk, the person entitled to payment, the cause of the loss and the applicable valuation rules. The central framework is the Insurance Code (Кодекс за застраховането, КЗ). For readers familiar with England and Wales, the Insurance Act 2015 provides a useful comparison for contractual risk disclosure, particularly its non-consumer fair-presentation regime, but its tests must not be substituted for Bulgarian rules. A policy issued for Bulgarian property requires its own analysis of the contract, mandatory protections and the facts of the particular event.
Early advice matters because the physical damage may change while insurers investigate. Flooring is removed, damaged stock is discarded, medical conditions develop and witnesses become harder to locate. A justified claim can become difficult to prove even when the policy remains available. ARG can coordinate legal assistance in situations including the following.
The first question is whose legally protected interest suffered harm. The policyholder who entered the contract, the insured person whose interest or life is protected, and the beneficiary entitled to receive payment may be different people. A mortgage lender can be the beneficiary of insurance connected with a loan, while the homeowner pays the premiums. An employer may arrange cover for employees, and a business may insure equipment belonging to a leasing company. Identifying who made the payment for the premium does not, by itself, identify who can demand the insurance proceeds. The policy schedule, beneficiary clause and underlying ownership or credit relationship must be read together.
Property cover ordinarily protects an interest measurable in money. The subject matter is framed by Article 399 of КЗ, while Article 402 addresses insurance arranged in one's own name over another person's property. That arrangement requires the owner's approval, and the statute permits approval after the insured event where the premium has been duly paid. This is a substantive route to a valid arrangement, not permission to disregard ownership. In the flooded-apartment example, a tenant who paid for insurance cannot simply assume that a policy describing the landlord's building also pays for the tenant's furniture. The separate interests, insured items and stipulated recipient must be established.
The event must then fall within the promise actually made by the insurer. A water-damage policy can distinguish a sudden pipe rupture from gradual seepage or a construction defect. A medical policy can cover treatment costs while an accident policy promises a scheduled benefit for a specified injury. These differences determine what must be proved. Evidence of a hospital bill establishes an expense, but it does not necessarily establish an accident within a policy definition. A photograph of a wet ceiling establishes visible damage, but it may leave open whether the source was a covered escape of water or long-standing roof deterioration.
Timing is equally important. The contract must cover the relevant interest during the legally relevant event, and the applicable trigger must be identified rather than guessed from the date of the complaint. Compulsory professional liability insurance has a specific default rule under Article 469(1) of КЗ, subject to a different statutory provision. The relevant event is the harmful result for which the insured is responsible. An error, the resulting damage, discovery of that damage and a later court judgment can occur on different dates. Several consecutive annual policies may therefore require examination, particularly where a client first discovers a professional error years after the underlying transaction.
The distinction is illustrated by Decision No 313 of 28 May 2024, civil case No 2024/2023, fourth civil division of the Bulgarian Supreme Court of Cassation. In the particular notarial transaction before it, the majority located the purchasers' harm in their failure to acquire the purported right through the conveyance, rather than in the later judgment establishing another person's ownership. The decision does not make the signing date decisive for every professional claim. Its practical value is the need to identify the actual harmful result and explain why that result engages a particular policy period.
Liability insurance also creates a different route from a claim under the injured person's own property policy. The injured third party can rely on the direct-claim mechanism under Article 432 of КЗ, within the insured liability and the statutory framework. The claimant must establish the insured person's legal responsibility as well as the applicable insurance cover. An insurer is therefore entitled to dispute whether its insured caused the loss, not merely its amount. Conversely, the injured claimant's protection cannot automatically be reduced to whatever defences would operate between insurer and policyholder. The same provision restricts specified defences against the direct claimant, so each objection needs its own legal classification.
Multiple policies require coordination rather than an assumption that every insurer owes the full loss independently. The rules on multiple insurance in Articles 391 and 392 of КЗ address the same interest insured against the same risk with several insurers, including limits on aggregate recovery. Different interests do not become identical merely because the same flood affected them. A building owner's structural damage and a tenant's damaged stock may support separate claims. Where the same damaged floor is insured twice, however, the claimant must account for prior payments and the applicable allocation regime. Presenting the complete policy picture protects a legitimate claim against an avoidable double-recovery dispute.
The practical outcome of this first analysis is a precise demand addressed to the correct insurer by the correct person. It states the insured interest, the relevant event, the policy period, the beneficiary position and the remedy sought. If the lender is entitled to receive payment, the client's objective may be reduction of the secured debt rather than payment into a personal account. If liability is contested, the case may require proof against the insured wrongdoer as well as the insurer. These choices influence the evidence, the formulation of any court claim and the way a settlement should record the effect of payment.
A refusal must be examined by identifying its actual legal ground. An event outside the agreed risk is different from a covered event followed by an alleged breach of a contractual duty. A dispute about false answers before the policy was issued is different again. These categories matter because they carry different conditions and consequences. An insurer cannot establish every type of defence merely by quoting a broad exclusion, and the claimant cannot answer every refusal simply by showing that premiums were paid. The analysis must connect the insurer's stated ground to the relevant wording and to facts capable of proving that ground.
Risk disclosure at formation is governed in particular by Article 362 of КЗ. The statutory framework gives importance to the insurer's express written questions and to the information actually supplied. The original questionnaire, application, correspondence and any inspection report therefore matter more than a later general statement that the insured should have disclosed everything. Where the insurer asked a question and accepted an unanswered or unclear response, Article 362(3) restricts later reliance on that omission as a reason to terminate, refuse payment or reduce the amount. The facts must still be assessed carefully, including whether there was deliberate concealment rather than a merely unclear answer.
Conscious misstatement or concealment is addressed separately by Article 363 of КЗ. For a payment defence after the event, the causal requirements in paragraph 4 are critical. Refusal in whole or in part depends on the inaccurately declared or concealed circumstance influencing the occurrence of the event. Where it influenced only the extent of the damage, the statute instead provides for reduction according to the relationship between the premium paid and the premium appropriate to the real risk. An insurer alleging an undisclosed business activity must therefore explain more than the existence of that activity. It must show how the relevant statutory conditions support the particular consequence demanded.
An example makes the distinction concrete. Suppose a business inaccurately describes how insured premises are used. A later fire may have resulted from the undisclosed activity, or it may have arisen independently while that activity merely increased the amount of stock destroyed. Those are different factual cases. Evidence about ignition, storage, fire separation and the insurer's risk pricing can decide whether the argument concerns occurrence, increased loss or neither. A general statement that the policy would have cost more cannot replace proof of the applicable refusal ground. Equally, where a lawful proportional reduction applies, contesting every reduction as unlawful would overlook the statutory structure.
The treatment of broadly drafted exclusions also requires attention to verified judicial interpretation. In Decision No 60063 of 30 June 2021, commercial case No 351/2020, first commercial division, the Bulgarian Supreme Court of Cassation examined a life-insurance clause broadly excluding consequences of pre-existing disease where the insurer had not asked the relevant questions under Article 362 of КЗ. It found the clause unfair in the circumstances examined. The judgment supports scrutiny of an exclusion used to bypass the statutory disclosure mechanism. It does not establish that all medical exclusions are invalid or that every pre-existing condition must be covered.
After a property event, the insured also has notification and cooperation duties. The default notification period in Article 403(1) of КЗ is seven working days from learning of the event, unless the contract provides another appropriate period. Paragraph 2 places limits on contractual shortening, including a distinct minimum for theft or robbery. These rules should be checked immediately against the actual policy. A missed deadline does not, however, automatically establish a lawful refusal. Paragraph 4 links the refusal ground to the purpose of obstructing the investigation or to the failure making the circumstances impossible to establish, while paragraph 5 addresses prior knowledge by the insurer.
The evidence can therefore defeat or substantiate a late-notification defence. A dated emergency report, photographs, preserved damaged components and the insurer's own earlier inspection may show that the relevant circumstances remained ascertainable. Conversely, a long delay combined with complete disposal of the damaged items may create a serious evidential problem. The correct response is a factual chronology supported by documents, not a formulaic assertion that notification was harmless. Necessary emergency repairs should be documented in detail, with an opportunity for inspection where practicable, because protecting people and limiting further loss must be reconciled with preserving proof.
Contractual non-performance invoked against a property claim is further constrained by Article 408(1)(3) of КЗ. The duty must have been provided by law or contract, its breach must be significant for the insurer's interest, and it must have led to the insured event. A refusal based on a missing security measure therefore calls for analysis of the actual duty and causal connection, rather than a search for any technical departure from the wording. The possible outcomes include full payment, a justified statutory reduction, rejection of an unsupported defence, or a valid refusal. A useful legal opinion explains which facts separate those outcomes and which party must establish them.
The sum printed on a policy is often a ceiling rather than the amount automatically payable after every event. The general indemnity framework in Article 386 of КЗ links payment to the actual loss at the date of the event, subject to the statutory treatment of underinsurance and agreed value. The policy's valuation basis, the nature of the damaged interest and the repair evidence must be examined together. A claim for replacing an entire kitchen cannot be justified solely by showing damage to one unit, but a proposed repair of that unit may be inadequate if matching components are unavailable or the method would not restore the insured property appropriately.
Underinsurance illustrates why a calculation needs a legal basis. The default rule in Article 389(1) of КЗ provides compensation for the full loss up to the insured sum, outside the agreed-value situation addressed by the statute. A proportional calculation applies where the contract contains the arrangement described in paragraph 2. For an illustrative loss of 20,000 against an insured sum of 60,000 and a relevant property value of 100,000, the numerical outcome differs materially. The default cap does not itself reduce that loss to 12,000. Such a proportional result requires the relevant contractual arrangement and correct values, before considering any other applicable lawful adjustment.
Lost business income requires a separate coverage inquiry. The property insurer does not owe lost profits unless otherwise agreed, as Article 405(2) of КЗ provides. Even where interruption cover exists, the calculation must distinguish turnover from the profit or other measure actually insured. Cancelled orders, historical margins, saved costs, the recovery period and alternative production capacity can all affect the result. A forecast prepared only after the event is weaker than contemporaneous orders and accounts showing what would probably have happened. The evidence should explain the causal connection between the insured damage and the claimed interruption, including any independent commercial downturn.
Where a separate damages claim against the wrongdoer includes lost profit, the proof principle in Interpretative Decision No 3 of 13 January 2023, interpretative case No 3/2021, of the joint civil and commercial assembly of the Bulgarian Supreme Court of Cassation is relevant. The expected increase in assets must be established with the required certainty through the evidence, rather than presumed from the harmful event. That decision concerns the proof of lost profit in tort. It should not be presented as an insurance-policy interpretation or as a rule that creates interruption cover which the parties never agreed.
The claims procedure also protects the ability to challenge a low assessment. The insurer must register receipt of the claim and subsequent documents under Article 106(2) of КЗ. The restrictions in paragraph 5 prohibit demands for legally unobtainable evidence and evidence lacking material significance that would unjustifiably delay the process. For the insurance classes within Article 108(1), outside large risks, the insurer generally has fifteen working days after all required evidence is provided to determine and pay the benefit or issue a reasoned refusal. The maximum period where evidence remains incomplete depends on the applicable class, and motor liability has a distinct statutory route.
A disputed assessment should be challenged item by item. The insured can request the factual and legal explanation for the amount under Article 108(6) of КЗ, which provides a seven-day response period for that complaint. The comparison should identify quantities, repair method, labour, materials and each deduction. Payment of an undisputed amount and a signed agreement settling all claims have different consequences, so the wording accompanying a proposed payment matters. A claimant should not sign a broad release on the assumption that it is merely a receipt. The unresolved balance and any reservation of rights need to be addressed expressly in the negotiated documents.
Court proceedings require proof beyond disagreement with the insurer's assessor. The Civil Procedure Code (Граждански процесуален кодекс, ГПК) governs that process, including the allocation of proof under Article 154(1) and expert evidence under Article 195(1). The closest procedural comparison for England and Wales is the Civil Procedure Rules' framework for evidence, although Bulgarian rules determine a Bulgarian action. Each party must establish the facts supporting its claim or defence. An appropriately instructed expert can address causation, repair feasibility or valuation, while the legal effect of a policy clause remains a question for the court.
Finally, claims handling and limitation must be tracked separately. The ordinary insurance-indemnity limitation in Article 378(1) of КЗ is three years from the event, while paragraph 2 provides five years for the specified personal-insurance and direct-liability claims. Other paragraphs contain further distinctions. Submission of a qualifying claim suspends the running of limitation under paragraph 9 until the earlier statutory endpoint, rather than keeping the claim alive indefinitely throughout correspondence. The written claim must also include accurate payment-account details under Article 380, because their omission affects payment delay and interest. Preserving these procedural rights allows the substantive dispute over coverage and amount to be resolved without avoidable losses caused by an expired claim or an incomplete payment demand.
The difficult moment in an insurance dispute often comes when a client discovers that several apparently similar policies promise very different things. Take an illustrative business owner who approaches ARG after a warehouse fire. The building is leased, the stock belongs to the company, a customer alleges that smoke damaged neighbouring premises, and one employee has a separate accident policy. The owner initially expects a single claim covering everything. In fact, ownership, liability to third parties and a personal accident benefit raise different questions, even though the same fire sits at the centre of them all.
The legal assessment must preserve those distinctions while building a coherent account of the event. The Insurance Code (Кодекс за застраховането, КЗ) regulates the relevant contracts and the relationship between insured parties, insurers and beneficiaries. A limited comparison for England and Wales is the Insurance Act 2015, which also regulates important aspects of insurance contracts, including risk presentation in non-consumer insurance. Bulgarian coverage, claim conditions and remedies nevertheless follow their own provisions. Importing a familiar foreign policy concept can obscure a right that Bulgarian law protects or a condition that the Bulgarian contract actually requires.
ARG can coordinate the legal and evidential work where several interests overlap, including these situations.
A property claim begins with the insured interest and the physical or financial consequence for that interest. The broad statutory subject matter in Article 399 of КЗ permits insurance of rights measurable in money, but the actual contract still determines the items, risks and limits covered. A warehouse policy describing a building does not necessarily include all stock stored inside it. A stock policy may distinguish goods owned by the business from goods held for customers. The claimant should therefore connect each damaged item to the policy description, its ownership or other insured interest, and the evidence of its presence when the event occurred.
This is particularly important for changing inventories. A photograph of a storeroom taken months earlier is not a complete stock record for the day of the fire. Purchase invoices, delivery notes, warehouse movements and sales records can be reconciled to explain the remaining quantity. A business may possess goods without owning them, or own goods held at another location. The insured location and the terms covering collections of items require examination alongside Article 401 of КЗ. The purpose is to distinguish genuine evidential gaps from an insurer's unsupported assumption that every missing invoice defeats the entire claim.
Valuation then turns on the correct legal and contractual measure. The distinction between actual value and reinstatement value appears in Article 400(1) and (2) of КЗ. The former concerns obtaining property of the same kind and quality, while the latter concerns restoring with new property of the same kind and quality, including inherent delivery, construction and installation costs without depreciation. The policy's basis therefore changes the relevance of age, wear, transport and installation. A calculation that deducts depreciation under a reinstatement-value arrangement needs a specific justification. Conversely, an ordinary actual-value claim cannot automatically be presented as a right to a more expensive upgraded asset.
An agreed insurance value under Article 387 of КЗ is another distinct arrangement. A figure on the front page is not necessarily an agreed value of that statutory kind. The wording must demonstrate what the parties actually fixed and for which risk. This distinction can matter where specialist equipment has no readily comparable second-hand market. The claimant may need manufacturing information, maintenance records and evidence of suitable equivalents. The insurer may legitimately question whether the proposed replacement has additional functions, but it should not use that question to ignore necessary costs of restoring equivalent operating capacity within the insured valuation basis.
Emergency expenditure deserves separate treatment from final restoration. The insured has obligations to limit damage, and Article 396 of КЗ provides for qualifying mitigation costs even where properly undertaken efforts do not succeed. The provision also addresses expenditure incurred on the insurer's instructions and circumstances in which the insured sum may be exceeded. For a flooded business, immediate pumping or temporary protection can therefore require a different analysis from replacement of the final floor finish. Receipts should identify the work, its urgency and the reason it was proportionate to the threatened loss. An instruction from the insurer should be retained in a form that proves its content.
Business interruption is not established merely by showing that the premises were closed. The property rule in Article 405(2) of КЗ excludes lost profits unless cover is agreed. Where the contract does cover interruption, the insured measure may require analysis of revenue, saved variable costs, continuing expenses and the agreed period. A business that could have fulfilled orders from another location faces different factual questions from one dependent on an irreplaceable production line. The relevant evidence includes pre-event orders, stock availability, historical accounts, repair lead times and the operational steps taken after the event. An unsupported percentage added to the repair bill is rarely a persuasive explanation of the loss.
The distinction between proving profit and proving insurance coverage must remain clear. Interpretative Decision No 3 of 13 January 2023, interpretative case No 3/2021, of the joint civil and commercial assembly of the Bulgarian Supreme Court of Cassation requires the necessary certainty when lost profits are sought in tort. It permits assessment through the relevant evidence rather than a presumption that a harmful event necessarily prevented profit. That reasoning is useful when the business also claims against the person responsible for the damage. It does not enlarge the insurance contract or remove a policy requirement linking interruption to covered physical damage.
Finally, recovery under one route affects the others. Payment by a property insurer can lead to statutory subrogation under Article 410 of КЗ, within the amount paid and the applicable additional costs. The insured must therefore distinguish the compensated part of the loss from an uninsured deductible or another genuinely uncompensated head. A proposed release in favour of the responsible contractor may interfere with rights that should pass to the insurer. Before settlement, the payment history, remaining loss and the intended scope of the release should be reconciled. This prevents a compromise over one part of the dispute from inadvertently undermining another valid route to recovery.
Liability insurance responds to the insured person's responsibility to someone else. The claimant's own damaged property may be central evidence, but the policy does not operate in the same way as insurance purchased over that property. The framework in Article 429(1) of КЗ distinguishes cover for liability for harm caused to third parties from cover that may be agreed for non-performance of a contractual obligation. The underlying duty must therefore be identified. A failed commercial promise, a negligent professional act and damage caused by a defective object can require different legal analysis. Labelling the complaint a professional error does not itself establish the insured liability.
The injured person normally needs evidence connecting the alleged breach to the actual loss. In a professional claim, that can mean demonstrating what the professional was engaged to do, what information was available, what the proper performance required and what would probably have happened without the error. A client who received an unfavourable outcome does not necessarily have a negligence claim. Equally, proof that a professional breached a requirement does not automatically establish every amount claimed. The analysis must separate the cost of correcting the error, additional loss caused by delay and commercial risks that the client would have faced anyway.
The direct claim under Article 432(1) of КЗ allows the injured person to seek compensation from the liability insurer in accordance with the written-claim requirements. The insurer can raise defences arising from the policy and the insured liability, subject to the specific exceptions in paragraph 2. This permits genuine disputes over causation, quantum or the insured activity, while preventing specified failures by the insured from simply being transferred to the injured claimant. In compulsory liability insurance, an agreed contribution by the insured cannot be invoked against that claimant. The insurer's possible recovery against the insured is a separate question and must not be confused with the claimant's entitlement.
For the insured professional or business, prompt notification protects the handling of the dispute. The duties in Article 430(1) of КЗ distinguish circumstances that could lead to liability, the event itself, demands made by the injured person, service of a court claim and payments made. The statutory seven-working-day periods run from the trigger specified for the particular notification. A business should therefore preserve the date on which a demand or court document was received, not simply the date printed on it. Forwarding only a short summary can also conceal allegations or procedural requirements that the insurer needs to address.
Participation in proceedings has substantive importance. The insured's duty under Article 430(2) of КЗ is to seek the insurer's joinder within the legal time limit where permitted. The insurer may also provide authorised representation under paragraph 3. The client's interests and the insurer's interests can overlap without being identical, particularly where the insurer reserves a coverage defence or the demand exceeds the limit. The response should distinguish admitting factual events, disputing legal responsibility and negotiating settlement. A careless admission can prejudice the insured's position even where the insurer does not become bound by it.
Settlement is specifically regulated by Articles 434 and 435 of КЗ. An agreement between the injured person and the insured, or the insured's acknowledgement of liability, binds the insurer if approved under the statutory conditions. Where the insured pays the claimant, reimbursement remains subject to the cover, limit and settlement rules. A professional cannot safely assume that paying a reasonable-looking demand will automatically produce an equivalent reimbursement. The proposed settlement should identify the covered incident, the amount, the parties released and the insurer's approval. A claimant should likewise understand whether the document settles only with the insured or resolves the claim against the insurer as well.
The applicable policy year is especially significant in compulsory professional indemnity. The default harmful-result trigger in Article 469(1) of КЗ must be distinguished from discovery or the date of a later judgment. Decision No 313 of 28 May 2024, civil case No 2024/2023, fourth civil division of the Bulgarian Supreme Court of Cassation illustrates that distinction in a notarial transaction. The majority treated the failure to acquire the purported right through the conveyance as the relevant harm, rather than the later ownership judgment. Applying that reasoning requires examination of the particular professional act and resulting loss, rather than a universal rule that every claim belongs to the year of engagement.
Several claimants may also compete for a limited insured amount. The special sequence in Article 470 of КЗ gives priority to the categories specified there and applies proportionality within a rank, rather than assuming that all demands receive equal treatment. The details include whether a claimant has already been compensated elsewhere. For example, two otherwise qualifying property claims in the same rank may share an insufficient balance proportionately, but they cannot be assessed without considering earlier-ranking claims and the statutory exceptions. Early submission and accurate loss information therefore matter beyond simply asking for payment. They allow the insurer and, if necessary, the court to identify the competing rights and the remaining available cover.
Personal insurance can promise a fixed sum, reimbursement of particular expenses or a combination, so the medical event and the calculation must both be identified. Life-insurance payments are framed by Article 438 of КЗ, while Article 459 distinguishes the accident regime and permits different forms of benefit. A hospital expense does not necessarily measure a fixed accident benefit, and a disability percentage does not necessarily establish entitlement under every medical policy. The schedule, insured event and benefit formula should be matched to the medical evidence. A family should be able to see why each requested document proves an element of the benefit rather than merely adding paper to the file.
The beneficiary position is often decisive after a death. Designation of a third-party beneficiary under Article 444 of КЗ may be revocable or irrevocable, and the policy may identify a person by name or by a category addressed in the statute. The person entitled to the insurance sum is therefore not necessarily determined by an assumption about ordinary inheritance shares. The latest valid designation, any amendment and the relevant family-status documents should be obtained. Where a policy refers to an unnamed spouse, for example, the statutory rule and the wording require attention to the relationship at the relevant event rather than an outdated application form alone.
Credit-linked insurance introduces a further distinction between the person seeking protection and the person receiving payment. The framework in Articles 382 and 383 of КЗ addresses arrangements connected with a loan or bank credit, including the position of the creditor and the insured debt. A family continuing to face loan demands after the borrower's death may need to pursue performance in favour of the bank rather than demand the whole sum personally. The outstanding balance at the relevant date, payments already made and the policy's insured amount should be reconciled. A successful insurance claim should have a defined effect on the loan account, avoiding both an unpaid insured debt and double recovery.
Medical disclosure disputes require the original underwriting material. The written questions and answers under Article 362 of КЗ identify the information the insurer sought when accepting the risk. Later medical records may show a condition existed, but the legal assessment also concerns what was asked, what was known and what was disclosed. An insurer that accepted clearly disclosed information faces a different position from one alleging conscious concealment. The causal distinctions in Article 363(4) also remain relevant. The chronology should therefore separate diagnosis, the insured person's knowledge, the application, the start of cover and the eventual event.
The consumer context adds a control over unfair standard terms. The Consumer Protection Act (Закон за защита на потребителите, ЗЗП) provides the relevant Bulgarian framework. Its closest comparison for England and Wales is the fairness regime in section 62 of the Consumer Rights Act 2015, although the Bulgarian provisions govern the assessment here. The general test in Article 143(1) of ЗЗП concerns a detrimental term contrary to good faith that produces a significant imbalance. The consequences and individual-negotiation rules in Article 146 require examination of the actual contracting process. Merely signing a standard policy does not demonstrate that the consumer could influence each prewritten term.
An important example is Decision No 60063 of 30 June 2021, commercial case No 351/2020, first commercial division of the Bulgarian Supreme Court of Cassation. The court examined a broadly formulated pre-existing-disease exclusion without the relevant questions under Article 362 of КЗ and treated the clause as unfair under Article 143(2)(6) of ЗЗП. The heir's action resulted in payment to the creditor bank, which is important when considering the appropriate remedy. The judgment should not be reduced to a promise that heirs receive insurance money directly or that every exclusion referring to an earlier illness is ineffective.
The medical evidence must still establish the covered event and address the actual disputed causal connection. A certificate stating only a diagnosis may not explain the onset, severity or relationship to an accident. Treatment records, examination findings and a specialist opinion can clarify those matters. The insurer is entitled to relevant information, while Article 106(5) of КЗ constrains legally unobtainable or materially irrelevant demands used to delay the process. Where the requested material is held by a medical institution or authority, the access mechanisms in Article 107 need consideration. The family should preserve a record of requests, responses and any legal obstacle to disclosure.
The resolution may be payment of the stipulated benefit, a recalculated benefit, performance in favour of a creditor or rejection of a claim that does not meet the insured event. A negotiated outcome should record precisely which policy and benefit it settles and how any connected debt is treated. The five-year limitation for the specified life, accident and illness claims under Article 378(2) of КЗ must be calculated from the legally relevant event, with the applicable suspension rules assessed separately. Repeated requests for reconsideration should not be mistaken for an unlimited extension. This allows the family to pursue a supported claim while preserving the ability to obtain a binding determination if correspondence does not resolve the dispute.
Tell us where you live, how your business works and what you want to change. We will help you identify the questions to resolve and the next steps to consider.
By the time a repair contractor is ready to remove damaged equipment, the evidence an insurer needs may be about to disappear. In an illustrative ARG consultation, a client brings photographs, an insurance certificate and a refusal letter following a fire at a Bulgarian business. The insurer says the cause remains unproven, the contractor wants to dispose of the damaged electrical panel, and the client has already accepted a small payment for cleaning. The immediate legal task is to preserve a claim that can still be proved, while allowing necessary work to continue and establishing exactly what the earlier payment settled.
The procedure starts with the Insurance Code (Кодекс за застраховането, КЗ), but a successful response requires more than sending the insurer another description of the loss. The contractual risk, the evidence of causation, the calculation and the applicable deadlines must be connected. For comparison with England and Wales, the Insurance Act 2015 also regulates important insurer and insured obligations, including contractual risk presentation in its non-consumer regime. Its provisions do not determine the Bulgarian claim. Here, the distinction between an event notification, a written payment demand and a court action can have direct consequences for interest, limitation and the available remedy.
ARG can coordinate the practical legal work in situations such as these.
The initial file should establish a reliable chronology rather than a retrospective story designed around the refusal. The dates of policy formation, inception of cover, premium payments, the event, discovery, notification, inspection and each document submission may answer different legal questions. A later discovery date does not necessarily move the insured event into a later policy year. An electronic message should be preserved with its attachments and delivery information, not merely copied into a new document. Where staff members or a broker handled the original report, their records can establish what the insurer actually knew and when it knew it.
The policy file should include the complete wording applicable to the relevant period. A current version downloaded from an insurer's website may differ from the terms supplied when the contract was concluded. The schedule, endorsements, application, written risk questions, certificates and premium evidence should therefore be assembled together. If an exclusion is invoked, the exact version matters. If the insurer alleges an undisclosed circumstance, the original questions under Article 362 of КЗ matter. A later summary prepared by an intermediary can help locate the documents, but it should not be treated as a substitute for the contractual text or the answers actually given.
Notification and a demand for payment should be distinguished. For a property event, Article 403 of КЗ governs the relevant notification framework, including the default period and the conditions for a refusal based on non-compliance. The written insurance claim under Article 380(1) must also provide accurate payment-account information, except where restoration in kind applies. A telephone call asking whether damage might be covered may leave uncertainty about whether a payment claim was submitted. The communication should identify the policy, claimant, event and requested performance, while making clear which losses remain under assessment and which supporting documents will follow.
Evidence should be preserved in a way that permits the cause to be examined. Wide photographs can show the location and relationship between damaged items, while close images record the particular component or defect. Dates, original files, serial numbers and a record of who removed each item can become important if authenticity or causation is disputed. The insurer should be offered a reasonable opportunity to inspect where circumstances permit. This does not mean leaving a dangerous electrical installation operating or allowing water damage to spread. Emergency work should be recorded, and relevant components retained where safe and practicable so that essential mitigation does not destroy the only evidence.
The duty to limit loss and the treatment of mitigation expenditure require separate attention. The framework in Articles 395 and 396 of КЗ recognises the importance of reasonable protective action and the conditions for reimbursement. A temporary measure may be appropriate even if it does not ultimately prevent all damage. The file should explain what was threatened, why the response was urgent and why the chosen expense was proportionate. Insurer instructions should be preserved. A business should also distinguish the emergency cost from ordinary maintenance or an improvement it would have undertaken anyway, because combining those items can obscure an otherwise valid reimbursement claim.
The insurer's own claims record supplies important dates. Registration of the initial claim and later documents is required by Article 106(2) of КЗ. The claimant should retain the acknowledgement or inventory confirming receipt. The statutory restrictions on additional evidence and materially irrelevant demands in Article 106(3) to (5) should be assessed against the exact request, the claimant's status and the documents already submitted. If a document cannot lawfully be obtained, the response should explain the obstacle and identify available alternatives. Simply ignoring a request leaves an avoidable gap; complying with an irrelevant request without objection can equally allow the dispute to drift.
The response periods depend on the insurance class and the state of the evidence. The fifteen-working-day framework in Article 108(1) of КЗ applies to the specified classes outside large risks after all required evidence has been supplied. Paragraphs 2, 3 and 5 address different maximum periods or exclusions from that regime. Compulsory motor liability has its own three-month final-response rule in Article 496(1). These periods should not be presented as a universal deadline applying identically to every insurance contract. A dated schedule should show which rule is relied on, what triggered it and whether a request for evidence was lawfully made.
The event date can itself require legal analysis. In Decision No 313 of 28 May 2024, civil case No 2024/2023, fourth civil division of the Bulgarian Supreme Court of Cassation, the majority identified the harm in the particular notarial transaction by reference to the failure to acquire the purported right, rather than a later ownership judgment. A professional-liability file should therefore preserve the underlying transaction documents as well as the later discovery and proceedings. The practical lesson is to prove the sequence that makes the alleged harm legally relevant, rather than assume that the newest document necessarily determines coverage or the start of limitation.
A useful challenge begins by separating what is admitted from what remains disputed. The insurer may accept that a fire occurred but dispute its cause, accept cover but question the quantity of stock, or accept the loss while applying a contested reduction. Each position calls for different evidence. A broad protest that the payment is unfair can leave the decisive issue unanswered. The response should identify the precise contractual or statutory ground invoked, the fact required for that ground and the material that supports or contradicts it. This makes it possible to distinguish a genuine coverage problem from an unsupported calculation.
If the dispute reaches court, the Civil Procedure Code (Граждански процесуален кодекс, ГПК) governs proof. The evidence framework in the Civil Procedure Rules is a limited comparison for England and Wales, while Bulgarian proceedings apply ГПК. The allocation in Article 154(1) requires each party to establish the facts supporting its claim or objection, subject to applicable presumptions and special rules. The claimant ordinarily needs a supported case on the contract, entitlement, event and loss. An insurer relying on an excluding or reducing circumstance must substantiate the facts on which that defence depends. The legal classification determines what the evidence must show.
Technical questions should be translated into tasks an expert can actually answer. The appointment mechanism in Article 195(1) of ГПК concerns issues requiring specialised knowledge. An electrical expert may be able to assess whether a component failed before the fire or was damaged by it. A valuation expert can examine repair feasibility, equivalent replacement and the policy's relevant valuation assumptions. An expert should not be asked simply whether the insurer is legally obliged to pay, because that is the court's task. A private technical opinion can help frame the dispute, but it does not automatically have the procedural status of a court-appointed expert's conclusion.
Where evidence is at risk, preliminary collection under Article 207 of ГПК may be appropriate. The statutory condition is danger that evidence will be lost or its collection will become difficult. A request should identify the endangered evidence and why delay matters, such as a structure that must be repaired or a machine that will be dismantled. The procedure is not an advance judgment that the insurer is liable. It preserves material for later assessment. This distinction allows urgent works and a future claim to be managed coherently, provided the proposed inspection or expert task addresses the actual contested issue.
A valuation challenge should explain the difference between the insurer's assessment and the supported alternative. Under the property framework in Articles 386 and 400 of КЗ, questions can include the relevant date, actual or reinstatement value, necessary repair method and the relationship between the damaged part and the whole. An invoice alone may show what was purchased without proving that the expense resulted from the event. Conversely, an insurer's standard schedule may fail to account for necessary delivery or installation. A reasoned comparison separates quantities, unit costs, depreciation where applicable and each claimed additional expense, making the legal effect of each disputed assumption visible.
The insured can request the written factual and legal explanation for the assessment under Article 108(6) of КЗ. The seven-day response requirement provides a practical way to obtain the insurer's reasoning before deciding whether further expert work is proportionate. Any partial payment should be recorded alongside its stated basis. A payment described as the undisputed part of a claim differs from consideration under an agreement releasing the remaining demand. The client should understand whether a proposed signature acknowledges receipt, accepts a calculation or settles all present and future claims arising from the event. Those consequences depend on the actual document, not its informal label.
Income loss requires evidence of the specific counterfactual commercial position. When a separate tort claim includes lost profit, Interpretative Decision No 3 of 13 January 2023, interpretative case No 3/2021, of the joint civil and commercial assembly of the Bulgarian Supreme Court of Cassation requires the expected asset increase to be proved with the necessary certainty. For a business, that may involve orders, available capacity, historical margins and avoided costs. The analysis should distinguish a plausible forecast from a supported loss. In the insurance claim itself, agreed interruption cover must also be established because Article 405(2) of КЗ does not create a general property-insurance entitlement to lost profits.
An effective written challenge can therefore produce several outcomes. The insurer may correct an arithmetic or valuation error, withdraw a legally unsupported defence, request a genuinely material missing document or maintain a reasoned disagreement. The client can then assess the remaining issue and the cost of proving it. Where the dispute concerns a narrow technical point, a focused expert exercise may be more useful than repeated general correspondence. Where the disagreement concerns the meaning or validity of a clause, further repair invoices will not solve it. The next step should address the reason payment remains disputed and preserve the right to obtain a judicial determination of that issue.
Court action should seek a remedy that corresponds to the claimant's actual right. A claim for an unpaid property indemnity differs from a beneficiary's claim for a fixed personal-insurance sum or an injured person's direct claim against a liability insurer. The defendant must be the legal entity responsible under the relevant contract or statutory mechanism. An agent, broker or claims-handling representative may receive correspondence without being the entity that owes the benefit. Before proceedings, the policy issuer, any succession or portfolio-transfer information and the representative's function should be checked so that a correct substantive case is not directed against the wrong party.
The prior claims procedure can be a condition of the judicial route. In compulsory motor liability, Article 498(3) of КЗ identifies the circumstances in which the injured person may bring the payment claim before the court, including non-payment within the period under Article 496, refusal or disagreement with the determined or paid amount. This should not be replaced by a blanket assumption that every claimant must always wait three months regardless of an earlier refusal. Nor should a rule specific to motor liability be applied without analysis to a different insurance class. The claim history should establish the actual statutory basis for proceeding.
Limitation needs an independent calculation before further negotiation. The ordinary three-year period and the specified five-year periods appear in Article 378 of КЗ, with separate rules for particular claims and starting points. The suspension in paragraph 9 runs from the qualifying insurance claim to the earlier endpoint specified by the statute. It does not convert an old claim into a new one each time the claimant sends a reminder. The court file should preserve the submission date, the insurer's decision and its receipt. If a limitation defence is foreseeable, the legal and factual response must be prepared before assuming that continued discussion protects the claim.
Interest also requires a supported starting point. Property indemnity engages Article 409 of КЗ after expiry of the applicable payment period, subject to Article 380(3). Failure to provide payment-account details has creditor-delay consequences and affects that interest entitlement. Motor liability has the more specific calculation in Article 497. A court demand should therefore distinguish principal, the relevant period of delay and any interest already paid. Interest owed because the insured wrongdoer delayed performance is also conceptually different from the insurer's own delay. Combining them without examining the statutory basis can lead to an overstated or incompletely pleaded claim.
International elements require separate answers about jurisdiction and governing law. Within its scope, Regulation (EU) No 1215/2012 on jurisdiction and the recognition and enforcement of judgments in civil and commercial matters provides special insurance jurisdiction rules in Articles 10 to 16. An insurer domiciled in a Member State may, under Article 11(1)(b), be sued by a policyholder, insured or beneficiary in the courts for that claimant's domicile in another Member State. The extension to permitted direct actions by injured persons appears in Article 13(2). These are conditional routes, not a statement that every person connected with any insurance loss can sue wherever they currently live.
Choice-of-court wording must be assessed within that special regime. The permitted departures in Article 15 of Regulation (EU) No 1215/2012 include specified situations, and the risks listed in Article 16 have particular importance. A clause naming a foreign court should therefore be analysed before being treated as conclusive. Conversely, an attractive domestic forum cannot be assumed merely because the damaged asset or the client's adviser is in Bulgaria. The insurer's domicile, the claimant's legal capacity, the nature of the risk and any relevant establishment must be identified. Those facts can determine whether the proposed Bulgarian action is procedurally available.
The applicable substantive law is a different inquiry. Regulation (EC) No 593/2008 on the law applicable to contractual obligations, known as Rome I, contains the insurance rules in Article 7. The provision distinguishes large risks from other contracts within its scope, limits the available choices in specified cases and addresses compulsory insurance. A Bulgarian court may therefore need to examine a foreign-law issue, while a foreign court may apply Bulgarian insurance law. The language of the policy or the nationality of the policyholder does not alone decide that question. The relevant risk location and contractual choice must be legally analysed rather than inferred from the correspondence address.
Once the proper route is established, a settlement or judgment should resolve the payment mechanics as precisely as the merits. The amount, currency, recipient, account, payment date, treatment of earlier sums and scope of any release should be clear. Where an insured debtor settles a liability claim, insurer approval under Article 434 of КЗ remains important to the reimbursement position. Where a lender is the beneficiary, the effect on the debt should be documented. An enforceable outcome is useful only if it identifies whose obligation is discharged and which claims remain. This final precision protects the result of the legal and evidential work already undertaken.
Find the service that matches your decision or procedure. Each page sets out the relevant requirements, supporting documents and practical steps.